My Declaration of Arbroath Revitalised

A few months ago, I published a brief post on the 1320 document known as the 800px-Declaration_of_arbroath“Declaration of Arbroath” in the midst of what was, at the time, the ramp-up to the recent referendum on Scottish independence. It contained a brief reflection on the phenomenon of using that document in political debates that post-date the document’s creation, and included my own introduction to and edition and translation of the document.

Since then, that post has been one of the more often-visited pieces on my blog, so I’ve returned to it this week to update its content in light of more recent events in Scotland, and also to make it more readable and user-friendly. Specifically, one may now find:

  • A somewhat updated reflection on later uses of the Declaration
  • A much-improved and more easily readable text of my introduction to the document.
  • A downloadable version of my introduction, edition, and translation of the document formatted for easier printing (offered under a Creative Commons license)

That edition/translation was a labor of love for me a number of years ago, part of a program of research related to other issues concerning the Declaration. I’m glad to offer it, here, as a free resource.

You can find the updated post here:

 

Leave a Reply

